Chai-Spice Baked Cheesecake

IMG_4325I am Sam. Sam-I-am. Do you like cheesecake? I do not like it Sam-I-Am.  I do not like cheesecake. Especially baked cheesecake. Blech. My husband on the other hand is mad for it. Sigh. Determined then to find a way to cheesecake in a way that I won’t hate, I am. Shut-up Yoda. Haven’t I mentioned before my love of cinnamon? I may have, once or twice. I luuuuuurv cinnamon. I’m also quite fond of a cup of chai. Cha-ching!! Chai cheesecake. I’m currently scoffing my third slice of the day. What of it? I’m breastfeeding which means I can eat whatever I damn well please. So there! Now, tips… if it’s cracked this usually this means it has been baked at too high a temperature. If it sinks in the middle, that means it’s been over-beaten. Bare minimum beating please!

Ingedients

  • 100g butter, melted
  • 300g gingernut biscuits
  • 500g cream cheese, at room temperature (get it out a couple hours beforehand at least)
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 100g brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice (roughly, juice of 1 lemon should do it)
  • 2 tsp vanilla paste
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 500g sour cream
  • cinnamon sugar to dust
  • boiling water

Gear

  • 22cm springform tin
  • baking paper
  • foil
  • Thermomix
  • large flat glass baking dish eg pyrex

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180ºc.
  2. First we need to prepare the tin. Take the base out and brush the sides with a little of the melted butter.  Cut a circle of baking paper to fit the base of the tin. Brush the paper with a little butter and set aside.
  3. Now we need to make a dam to keep the base dry because our tin will be sitting in a water bath later. Tear off 80cm of foil and fold it in half.  Lay the foil over the base of the tin, then put the baking paper circle on top. Sit the springform tin over the base and lock it in. Fold the excess foil up around the sides.
  4. Put the biscuits into the mixing bowl and mill them to a sandy texture 20secs/speed 8
  5. Add the butter and mix 10 secs/speed 3. It should look like wet sand.
  6. Press the biscuit crumb into the base of the tin, use the base of a glass or jar to pack it down.
  7. Wash the mixing bowl thoroughly.
  8. To the mixing bowl, add the cream cheese, sugar, cornflour, eggs, lemon juice, vanilla, spices, honey and salt then beat 30 secs/butterfly/speed 3
  9. Add the sour cream and beat briefly to combine 5 secs/butterfly/speed 3.
  10. Pour the batter into the tin then put the tin into a baking dish.
  11. Pour boiling water into the dish to come halfway up the sides of the tin to make a water bath.
  12. Bake for 50 minutes then turn off the oven but do not open the door for another hour.
  13. Lift the tin from the water and pull the foil away from the sides to release any water.
  14. Cool completely in the tin on a wire rack then refrigerate overnight.
  15. Dust with cinnamon sugar.

 

 

Leave a Reply

