Roasted Green Chilli, Corn & Smoked Chicken Chowder

This soup was my first post-brain surgery solo cook. Chosen because of it’s simplicity to throw together (i.e. so Depth Perception Girl can’t f*ck it up) and it’s inherent comfort food vibe.

I’m uncertain of it’s origins geographically speaking but I’d peg it somewhere in South America. I’m sensing a peruvian/cuban thang going on. Excuse my obvious ignorance to any Peruvians/Cubans out there reading this – it’s a stab in the dark I’ll be honest as I’m Australian with Mediterranean influences so my south american knowledge is sub-par to appalling. If it makes you feel any better whatsoever, I do like what you guys are doing over there. Evidently.

From a legal/generally being respectful of others perspective, I did start at the Gluten Free Goddess blog for the original recipe however not being American I ignored vast chunks of it and pretty much did my own thing. Cause that’s my thang.

The outcome was smoky and heartwarming. Very pleasing indeed.

Whenever I cook soups, I almost always double the recipe cos I want LOADS of leftovers for lunches and dinners. The quality below made enough for 4 very greedy dinners, without any accompanying bread, which it would certainly have supported with pleasure. I made double, natch, so I had dinner for two plus 2 lunches and another 4 big tubs are awaiting gobble-dom in the fridge.

On next attempt, I’d consider blitzing it with my hand-blender before adding the chicken. Might look purdy   and thus be useful in a more elegant, entertaining others type affair (might not but I’ll give it a go).

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds (sure you can use ground cumin if you want to, but once you’ve started down the path of grinding your own you will NEVER want to to go back. Takes 2 minutes to do and the flavour is so different – translate as BETTER!)
  • 1 teaspoon smoky paprika
  • 1 teaspoon of red chilli flakes, to taste
  • 5 cloves fresh garlic, skin on
  • 1 medium red onion, diced
  • 3 ears of corn, roasted, kernels removed OR if you are lazy like me, 2 cups of frozen corn kernels
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled, diced
  • 400ml tin Diced Tomatoes
  • 2-3 tomatoes, seeded, chopped – a punnet of coloured cherry tomatoes would look lovely but hey, I used plain old red tomatoes cos that’s what was in the fridge
  • 50g large green chillies (about 5 big ones)
  • 1l vegetable stock (or water if you don’t have any stock and can’t be bothered with a trip to the shops)
  • 200-400ml coconut milk (the quantity is REALLY a matter of taste. I prefer a bit less but I know others prefer more – the source recipe called for 400ml but I only used half based on taste so go with your preference)
  • 300g smoked chicken (if you don’t have smoked chicken – usually in the meat section of the supermarket – a roasted supermarket/chicken shop chicken will be fine or make your own if you can be bothered. I like smoked cause it gives a lovely smoky flavour that really delivers but this is comfort food so let’s not get too precious about things), chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • salt and ground pepper, to taste
  • A quick drizzle of raw agave nectar, to taste (don’t have any? honey will do fine)
  • 3 tablespoons coriander, chopped (You’ll note in my pics the lack of coriander. That’s cos I forgot to get some and I feel remorse. It would have been gorge. That said, I’m a huge coriander apologist so for me it’s a given).
  • 2 limes, juiced (as it happened, I also forgot to get limes – did I mention I had brain surgery 4 weeks ago! Sheesh! Don’t judge me 🙂 – and I happened to have lemons in the fridge so they jumped in. While they were ok, I just know they didn’t quite cut the mustard. Lime would have been perfect).

Gear

  • Large pot for the soup, with a lid
  • Roasting pan
  • Large cooks knife

Method

  1. Preheat oven to high (250ish)
  2. Throw your garlic and green chillies into the roasting pan with a  splash of olive oil
  3. Place the roasting pan in the oven. Let it go for a good 10 minutes or so before moving onto the next step.
  4. In a dry frypan toast your cumin till it’s fragrant then pound in the mortar and pestle to powder (brain-spazz girl relegates this task to husband. It makes him feel (a) needed and (b) in charge of pounding.)
  5. Heat the olive oil over medium heat and add the onion. Saute till softened and translucent.
  6. Add the cumin, paprika, chilli flakes and cook for a minute or so till fragrant and well combined.
  7. Check your chillis have some nice dark roasty spots and are looking a liiiiitle bit wrinkly and your garlic is looking soft and a little coloured. If so, pull it out of the oven.
  8. Chop the tops of your chillies off and chop them into quite small chunks
  9. Squeeze the garlic out of it’s skins, smoosh with the flat of a cooks knife and chop roughly
  10. Add the corn, sweet potato, tinned tomatoes, fresh tomatoes, green chillies and garlic to the soup and give it a good stir.
  11. Add the stock, cover and bring to a boil.
  12. Once it’s hit boil, reduce to low and simmer until the sweet potatoes are tender, about twenty minutes or so.
  13. Add the coconut milk and chicken.
  14. Season with sea salt and ground pepper and add a drizzle of agave/honey to taste.
  15. Heat gently so the chicken is warmed through – don’t boil it or your coconut milk will do not very nice things.
  16. Just before serving, add the coriander and lime juice.
  17. Garnish with a lime wedge and prepare yourself for some satisfying happiness.

Serves: 6

Onion & spices sauteing Roasted Chillies
2 thoughts on “Roasted Green Chilli, Corn & Smoked Chicken Chowder

  1. Very tasty, and after making it I agree that reducing the amount of coconut milk is better.. it gives a more rounded result. Well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

