Portokalopita aka Sweet Orange Pie

I do not like cake all that much.  What I do like in a cake is crumbly, syrupy and citrus. And I’ve got greek blood in me (somewhere) so I figure this is a cake for me.

It’s quite unusual in that it has no flour as such so I guess calling it a cake is deceiving. And I do not wish to deceive. As the name says it’s a pie so let’s call it a pie. Besides, who doesn’t like filo pastry? The more fat the better. It does seem like a pantry dessert which is always appealing. (by pantry dessert I mean something that can be constructed without having to go shopping).

I will suggest that this probably ISN’T diet food and I won’t be giving this one a burl in the near future. ** sigh ** but next time I invite someone over for a casual dinner, this is on the cards.

Ingredients

1 packet filo pastry (12 sheets)
250g Greek strained yoghurt
4 eggs
2 tablespoons baking powder
250 ml extra virgin olive oil

For the syrup:

600 ml water
250g sugar
Grated rind from 2 oranges

Method

Leave the sheets of filo pastry out, separated and uncovered, to dry for a few hours.
Once dry, crumble the filo.
Put the olive oil and eggs in a mixing bowl and whisk well with a metal whisker.
Add the yoghurt and baking powder and continue whisking until you have a smooth cream.
Add the crumbled filo pastry and mix in well with your hands.
Put in an oven dish and bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 20 minutes until it turns a golden colour.
In the meantime, prepare the syrup ? boil the syrup ingredients in a pan for 5 minutes.
After removing the pie, once it is cold, cut into portions and spread the warm syrup on top.

One thought on “Portokalopita aka Sweet Orange Pie

Leave a Reply

