Buttermilk Baked Eggs in Roasted Tomato

Well I am mildly amused but mostly, tastefully aroused by this recipe. I do love a baked egg and I find the quaintness of dropping it into a tomato “shell” for baking ever so slightly adorable. I’m a bit mad for buttermilk at the moment.

Buttermilk you say, why buttermilk? It’s fairly low fat and pleasantly tangy… what’s not to like?  I’ve used it before making “occasion” pancakes but never paid much attention to it. Recently I was making a banana cake, ’cause, well, what else does Holly Homemaker do when she’s home? Ok that’s a lie. I don’t bake, for the most part, but I wanted my  Husband to, for just a moment, not resent my lack of income for several weeks (damn freelancers) and blind him with my baking prowess (read, his love of sugar which blinds him to my actual lack of prowess). Having baked said banana cake, I had half a container of buttermilk left and a dearth of ideas that don’t invoke an unpleasant layer of fat around one’s midsection. Enter, the “tomato shell”. Boom!

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe tomatoes
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
Method
  1. Preheat oven to 180c.Cut a very thin slice from bottom of each tomato so that it sits flat. Do not cut into the liquid part of the tomato. 
  2. Cut a 1/2 inch slice off tops of tomatoes and scoop out seeds and pulp from cavity, leaving the shell of the tomato intact and being careful not to penetrate the bottom. 
  3. Sprinkle insides of tomatoes with salt and freshly ground pepper. 
  4. Put 1/2 tablespoon buttermilk in bottom of each tomato. 
  5. Into each drop a raw egg, which will come almost to the top of tomato. 
  6. Carefully spoon 1 tablespoon buttermilk on top of each. Sprinkle with salt. 
  7. Place in shallow baking dish and bake 25 minutes, or until eggs are set but not overcooked. 

From: Entertaining 1-2-3 : More than 300 Recipes for Food and Drink Using Only 3 Ingredients

One thought on “Buttermilk Baked Eggs in Roasted Tomato

Leave a Reply

